History of Science Society 2015 Prize Winners

Evan Hepler‐SmithReingold Prize

Evan Hepler‐Smith, Princeton University for “’A way of thinking backwards’: Chemists, computers, and a once and future method.” The Nathan Reingold Prize is awarded for best essay by a graduate student.



Sally Gregory KohlstedtJoseph H. Hazen Education Prize

Sally Gregory Kohlstedt, University of Minnesota. The Joseph H. Hazen Education Prize is awarded for excellence in education.




Christopher CrennerDerek Price/Rod Webster Prize

Christopher Crenner, University of Kansas Medical Center for “Race and Laboratory Norms: The Critical Insights of Julian Herman Lewis (1891-1989)” (September 2014). The Derek Price/Rod Webster Prize is awarded for best article in Isis.


Amy Sue BixMargaret W. Rossiter History of Women in Science Prize

Amy Sue Bix, Iowa State University, for Girls Coming to Tech! A History of American Engineering Education for Women (MIT Press). The Rossiter Prize is awarded for best book on the role of women in science.


Martin J.S. RudwickThe Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize

Martin J.S. Rudwick, Cambridge University, for Earth’s Deep History: How It was Discovered and Why It Matters (University of Chicago Press). The Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize is awarded for best book for a general audience.


Daniel P. TodesPfizer Prize

Daniel P. Todes from Johns Hopkins University for Ivan Pavlov: A Russian Life in Science (Oxford University Press). The Pfizer Award is for best scholarly book.


Neale Wheeler WatsonOutstanding Service Award

Neale Wheeler Watson, Science History Publications. The Outstanding Service Award is for “Society members who carry out HSS business with distinction.”


Robert FoxSarton Medal

The History of Science Society has awarded the 2015 Sarton Medal for Lifetime Scholarly Achievement to Robert Fox, Emeritus Professor at University of Oxford.


Honors & Awards

The Society gives several awards and honors. Prizes recognize various outstanding contributions to the history of science. All Society sponsored prizes are announced and distributed at the Society’s annual meeting. Prizes are awarded by special committees, who consider nominations submitted by members, publishers, and the public at large. General deadline for nominations is 1 April 2016.