History of Science Society 2014 Prize Winners

Reingold Prize

Iain WattsIain Watts, a student in the Program in History of Science at Princeton University, for his essay “Philosophical Intelligence: Letters, Print and Experiment During Napoleon’s Continental Blockade.” This prize is awarded for an outstanding graduate student essay.


The Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize

W. Patrick McCrayW. Patrick McCray for The Visioneers: How a Group of Elite Scientists Pursued Space Colonies, Nanotechnologies, and a Limitless Future. The Davis Prize recognizes the best book for “a general audience” which “promotes the public understanding of science.”


Derek Price/Rod Webster Prize

Warwick AndersonWarwick Anderson for his article “Hybridity, Race, and Science: The Voyage of the Zaca, 1934–1935.” This prize is awarded in recognition of excellence in a research article published in the journal Isis in the previous three years.


Sarton Medal

Steven ShapinThe History of Science Society has awarded the 2014 Sarton Medal for Lifetime Scholarly Achievement to Steven Shapin, Franklin L. Ford Emeritus Professor in the History of Science at Harvard University.


Joseph H. Hazen Education Prize

Monica H. GreenMonica H. Green of Arizona State University, for outstanding contributions to the teaching of history of science. Green is a Professor of History at ASU who specializes in the Global History of Health and Medieval European History, particularly the history of medicine and the history of gender.


Margaret W. Rossiter History of Women in Science Prize

Kimberly HamlinKimberly Hamlin, Associate Professor of History and American Studies and Director of the American Studies Program at Miami University for her article “The Case of the ‘Bearded Woman’: Hypertrichosis and the Construction of Gender in the Age of Darwin.” This prize is awarded in recognition of an outstanding book or article on the history of women in science.


Levinson Prize

Daniela BleichmarDaniela Bleichmar, for her book Visible Empire: Botanical Expeditions and Visual Culture in the Hispanic Enlightenment (University of Chicago Press, 2012). This prize is awarded biennially for a book in the history of the life sciences and natural history.


Pfizer Prize

Sachiko KusukawaSachiko Kusukawa for her book Picturing the Book of Nature (University of Chicago Press, 2012). This prize is awarded in recognition of an outstanding book dealing with the history of science.