Announcing the 2017 Neu-Whitrow Prize

The Commission on Bibliography and Documentation (CBD) of the International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology, Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPST/DHST) invites nominations for the Neu-Whitrow Prize, named after two outstanding bibliographers in our field: John Neu and Magda Whitrow.

The Neu-Whitrow Prize is awarded every four years to the scholar who has created the most innovative research tool for managing, documenting, and analyzing sources in the history of science and technology. The primary goal is to encourage the development of innovative research tools which includes bibliographies, archival finding aids, and other scholarly resource discovery tools. The entries will be judged on their content, usability, and precision. They can be either print-based or digital.

The deadline for submission is April 15, 2017. Information about requirements for the prize can be found at

The award will be announced at a ceremony to be held at the 25th ICHST conference in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in July 2017. The winner will receive a prize of US$500 and a certificate. The winner will also be invited to join the Advisory Board of the CBD.

For questions, please contact Birute Railiene