Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowships for Recently Tenured Scholars

The American Council of Learned Societies has announced the 2018 Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellows. The Burkhardt Fellowship program, which supports recently tenured faculty as they pursue ambitious scholarship at a consequential stage of their careers, is made possible by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Burkhardt Fellowships carry a $95,000 stipend and a $7,500 research budget, and allow awardees to take up year-long residencies at institutions whose resources and scholarly communities are ideally suited to facilitate the proposed research project. One set of awards, which is open to recently tenured faculty at all US-based colleges and universities, supports residencies at 13 national and international research centers that partner with ACLS for this program. Another set of awards, reserved for faculty from liberal arts colleges, enables fellows to carry out their residencies at any research university-based humanities center or academic department in the United States. The fellowships are designed to accommodate long-term, multi-year research projects and thus may take place in any of the three academic years following the fellow’s selection.

“A central tenet of the program is that the residential fellowship experience fosters multidisciplinary conversations and encourages connections among faculty from different backgrounds and different types of institutions,” said Matthew Goldfeder, ACLS’s director of fellowship programs. “This experience enriches fellows’ individual projects and fosters long-lasting scholarly networks, preparing the fellows for careers of far-reaching research and leadership in the humanities.”

Projects that may be of interest to HSS members are listed below. Further information on this year’s awardees is available here.

Katherine Epstein (Associate Professor of History, Rutgers University-Camden) State Secrets: Computers, Defense Contracting, and the Origins of the National-Security State – Institute for Advanced Study, School of Historical Studies in 2018-2019

Paul Fyfe (Associate Professor of English, North Carolina State University) The Age of Transmission: From Victorian Media Cultures to the Digital Humanities – National Humanities Center in 2018-2019

Mitra Sharafi (Associate Professor of Law, University of Wisconsin-Madison) Fear of the False: Forensic Science in Colonial India – National Humanities Center in 2020-2021

The fellowships are named for the late Frederick Burkhardt, president emeritus of ACLS, whose decades of work on The Correspondence of Charles Darwin constitute a signal example of dedication to a demanding and ambitious scholarly enterprise.

Contact: Matthew Goldfeder,

The American Council of Learned Societies, a private, nonprofit federation of 75 national scholarly organizations, is the preeminent representative of American scholarship in the humanities and related social sciences. Advancing scholarship by awarding fellowships and strengthening relations among learned societies is central to ACLS’s work. This year, ACLS will award more than $20 million to over 350 scholars across a variety of humanistic disciplines.