WITH Conference Grants 2019

Type: Grant

Name: Women in Technological History (WITH)

Location: Milan, Italy

Application Deadline: August 05, 2019

Sponsoring Institution: Society for the History of Technology (SHOT)


The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) Special Interest Group (SIG) for Women in Technological History (WITH) announces its conference grant for 2019. Designed to defray some costs associated with attending the SHOT Annual Meeting (such as lodging, meals, and other incidental expenses), the grant is open to individuals giving a paper at the 2019 conference in Milan. The reviewing committee prioritizes women scholars and feminist scholarship that addresses the presence, actions, activism, and analysis of women and gender in the History of Technology. Scholars who are new to SHOT and graduate students are particularly encouraged to apply.

Awardees typically receive a check for $250 with the possibility of additional funds depending on stated need and WITH’s resources. Winners will be recognized in Milan at the WITH luncheon meeting, where they will receive a check for the amount of the grant. The grant includes the cost of the luncheon.

To apply, please send 1) a cover letter that incorporates a brief abstract of your proposed paper, a brief budget of anticipated expenses associated with your trip to Milan, and a list of any other grants or funding that may offset these expenses, 2) evidence that your paper has been accepted by the SHOT program committee, and 3) a one page curriculum vitae. All application materials should be forwarded to WITHgrants@gmail.com. The application deadline for the WITH Conference Grant is August 5th, 2019.

Scholars with higher travel expenses may be able to piece together funds from the WITH Conference Grant with a SHOT Travel Grant or conference grants offered by other Society SIGS and should feel free to apply for multiple applicable grants once their proposal is accepted for the 2019 meeting. For more information on SHOT Travel Grants, please see here. For more information and contact information about other SIG Conference Grants, please see here.

Committee Members:
Julie Cohn, University of Houston
Whitney Laemmli, Carnegie-Mellon University
Alan Meyer, Auburn University
Corinna Schlombs, Rochester Institute of Technology

Contact Information:
Send questions to

Posted: July 25, 2019