Society of Automotive Historians (SAH) Richard Scharchburg Student Paper Award 2018

Type: Prize

Name: Society of Automotive Historians (SAH) Richard Scharchburg Student Paper Award 2018

Location: Hershey, PA

Application Deadline: June 10, 2018

Sponsoring Institution: Society of Automotive Historians (SAH)


In order to encourage research and writing effort among university students in the area of automotive history, the Society confers its annual award for the best student paper in the auto history field.  The award is named for Richard Scharchburg, the late Professor of History at Kettering University, eminent automotive historian, and past vice president of the Society of Automotive Historians. Persons submitting papers must be enrolled at educational institutions (upper-class undergraduate or graduate level) at the time of submission.  This competition is international in scope, but papers must be in the English language.  Papers already published or scheduled for publication will not be accepted.

Manuscripts should not exceed 10,000 words, and should be double-spaced.  An abstract is requested.  Judging criteria include clear statement of purpose and testable hypothesis, accuracy and thoroughness of research, originality of the research, documentation, quality and extent of bibliographic resources, and writing style.  Diagrams, graphs, or photographs may be included.  Submissions are to be electronic, in Word format or pdf files only, to the e-mail address below.

Possible subjects include but are not limited to historical aspects of automobile companies and their leaders, regulation of the auto industry, financial and economic aspects of the industry, the social effects of the automobile, highway development, environmental matters, and automotive marketing, design, engineering and safety.

A cover letter should be included stating the student’s address, school, program, advisor, and stage in studies.  The student should indicate how the paper submitted will relate to his or her professional future.  Submissions must e-mail dated by June 10, 2018.  All papers submitted will be acknowledged.

Recent Previous Award Winners:

2017 – No award

2016 – Alison Kreitzer, University of Delaware

2015 – Patrick Nicolello, University of Dayton

2014 – Sarah Seo, Princeton University

2013 — John Emerson Mohr, Auburn University

2012—Samuel Kling, Northwestern University

2011 – Andrew Mabon, James Madison University

2010 – No award

2009 – Peter Cajka, Marquette University

Upon recommendation of the judges, the winning paper will considered for publication in the Society’s Automotive History Review. The award consists of a plaque and a cash prize of $500.00.


Contact Info: 

Submissions should be sent to:

John Heitmann
Chair, Student Awards Committee
Department of History
University of Dayton
300 College Park
Dayton, OH 45469-1540

Tel: 937-229-2803
Fax: 937-229-2816

Contact Information:
John Heitmann

Posted: February 07, 2018