Society for the History of Technology: Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize 2017

Type: Prize

Name: Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize

Location: International

Application Deadline: April 15, 2017

Sponsoring Institution: Society for the History of Technology


Submissions are invited for the The Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize (formerly the IEEE Life Members’ Prize in Electrical History).The prize is awarded annually to the best paper in the history of electrotechnology—power, electronics, telecommunications, and computer science—published during the preceding year  Any article published in a learned periodical is eligible if it treats the art or engineering aspects of electrotechnology and its practitioners. The article must be written in English, although the journal or periodical in which it appears may be a foreign language publication.

Complete information is available at

To nominate an article, please send a copy of the paper to each member of the prize committee.

Matthew Eisler, Chair (2016-2018)
Department of Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA 22807

Sheldon Hochheiser (2015-2017)
AT&T Archives and History Center
5 Reinman Road
Warren, New Jersey 07059

Eden Medina (2017-2019)
Informatics West 225
Indiana University
901 E. 10th Street
Bloomington, IN 47408

Contact Information:
Sheldon Hochheiser

Posted: March 28, 2017