SHOT International Scholars: Call for Nominations

Type: Prize

Name: SHOT International Scholar

Location: International

Application Deadline: February 13, 2017

Sponsoring Institution: Society for the History of Technology


The Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) calls for nominations from non-North American scholars to join SHOT’s International Scholars Program. Nominee submissions are reviewed by members of SHOT’s Internationalization Committee and up to four scholars are chosen each year for a two year term.

The aim of the Program is to foster the individual careers of International Scholars and to support local networks and activities for and by scholars working on the history of technology. International Scholars act as ambassadors for SHOT in their countries and regions, both by informing the Society about the state and developments of the history of technology in their regions, and by helping to disseminate information about the Society and its activities. International Scholars receive a free membership to the Society, as well as the highest priority for SHOT travel funding. Presentation proposals from Scholars receive additional consideration from the Program Committee.
For further information about the nomination process, as well as the benefits and support provided to International Scholars, please visit:…/international_programs…

To become a SHOT International Scholar, one must reside and work in an underrepresented country at the time of selection. Graduate students, post docs, and visiting scholars who are living and working in the United States, Canada or Western Europe are not eligible to become International Scholars; however, they are eligible to apply once they return to their home countries. Of these potential candidates, any one at any rank, from graduate student up through senior scholar, is eligible to become an International Scholar. Individuals may be nominated as International Scholars by any member of the Society, Self-nomination is encouraged. Further details on the nomination process are found at the website listed above.

The new deadline for this years’ nominations is February 13, 2017

Contact Information:
Jan Korsten

Posted: January 31, 2017