Maurice Daumas Prize

Type: Prize

Name: Maurice Daumas Prize

Location: Awarded at 42nd Symposium in Tel Aviv, Israel (attendance is desirable but not required)

Application Deadline: January 12, 2015

Sponsoring Institution: Sponsered by L'Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France through The International Committee for the History of Technology (ICOHTEC)


The International Committee for the History of Technology, ICOHTEC, welcomes submissions for the Maurice Daumas Prize, which aims to encourage innovative scholarship in the history of technology. ICOHTEC is interested in the history of technological development as well as its relationship to science, society, economy, culture and the environment. There is no limitation as to theoretical or methodological approaches.

The prize  will be awarded to the author of the best article submitted which deals with the history of technology in any period of the past or in any part of the world and which was published in a journal or edited volume in 2013 or 2014. Eligible for the prize are original articles published in (or later translated into) any of the official ICOHTEC languages (English, French, German, Russian or Spanish). Submissions are welcomed from scholars of any country who are currently in graduate school or have received their doctorate within the last seven years. Please send your submission and a brief (not to exceed one-page) cv to each of the five Prize Committee members no laterthan 12 January 2015. Electronic submissions are preferred.The winner will be contacted in late May 2015.

The prize will be awarded at our 42nd Symposium, to be held 16 – 21 August 2015 in Tel Aviv, Israel. The trip to Tel Aviv is desirable, but not required. The winner will receive a cash prize of Euro 500 as well as a travel grant of Euro 300 (if needed) to attend the ICOHTEC Symposium, which will feature a special panel organized around the winning article. The Daumas Prize is sponsored by L’Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard (UTBM), France.

For more information, please visit .

For the Maurice Daumas Prize 2014, please send your submission to each of the five Prize Committee members. Please visit for further instructions and mailing addresses.

Contact Information:
Hermione Giffard

Posted: October 13, 2014