Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in US Women’s and/or Gender History

Type: Prize

Name: Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in US Women's and/or Gender History

Location: St. Louis, MO, United States

Application Deadline: November 01, 2014

Sponsoring Institution: Organization of American History


In 2015, the inaugural Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize in US Women’s and/or Gender History will be awarded, thanks to a generous gift to endow this prize fund from Alexandra M. Nickliss. The prize is named after Professor Nickliss’ mother, Mary Jurich Nickliss, the child of Serbian immigrants, who arrived in the United States in the early twentieth century wave of immigration. Mary Jurich Nickliss always had aspirations of receiving a college education and becoming a career woman but was constrained by historical times. Her dream was realized by her daughter, Alexandra Nickliss, presently an instructor in the Department of Social Sciences at the City College of San Francisco, and a long-time OAH member. This prize acknowledges the generations of women whose opportunities were constrained by the historical circumstances in which they lived.

The Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize is given for “the most original” book in U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History.  The OAH defines “the most original” book as one that is a path breaking work or challenges and/or changes widely accepted scholarly interpretations in the field. If no book submitted for the prize meets this criterion, the award shall be given for “the best” book in US women’s and/or gender history. “The best” book recognizes the ideas and originality of the significant historical scholarship being done by historians of U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History and makes a significant contribution to the understanding of U.S. Women’s and/or Gender History.

Each entry must be published during the calendar year preceding that in which the award is given (January 1, 2014 through December 1, 2014).

The award will be presented at the 2015 OAH Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, April 16-19.

Submission Procedures

One copy of each entry, clearly labeled “2015 Mary Jurich Nickliss Award Entry” must be mailed directly to the committee members listed below. Each committee member must receive all submissions by November 1, 2014.

Bound page proofs may be used for books to be published after November 1, 2014 and before January 1, 2015. If a bound page proof is submitted, a bound copy of the book must be received no later than January 7, 2015. (Please see “Submission Policy” at right.)

If a book carries a copyright date that is different from the publication date, but the actual publication date falls during the correct timeframe making it eligible, please include a letter of explanation from the publisher with each copy of the book sent to the committee members.

The final decision will be made by the Mary Jurich Nickliss Award Committee by February 2015. The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and awards presentation, where she or he will receive a $1,000 cash award and a plaque.

Mary Jurich Nickliss Prize Committee

Paula E. Petrik (Committee Chair) 25456 Crossfield Drive Chantilly, VA 20152-3904

Jennifer H. Dorsey McCormick Center for the Study of the American Revolution Siena College 515 Loudon Road Loudonville, NY 12211-1462

Chana Kai Lee History Department 220 LeConte Hall Athens, GA 30605 [Affiliation:  University of Georgia]

Janet Brodie 619 Resolano Drive Pacific Palisades, CA 90272-3033

Sharon Wood 5216 Pacific Street Omaha, NE 68106-1747 [Affiliation: University of Nebraska at Omaha]


Mailing Address:
112 N. Bryan Avenue Bloomington, Indiana 47408-4141

URL 1:

Contact Information:

Posted: August 06, 2014