American Historical Association Awards and Prizes

Type: Prize

Name: Varied

Location: Washington, D.C.

Application Deadline: May 15, 2016

Sponsoring Institution: American Historical Association


The Association recognizes a wide variety of distinguished historical work, which can take the form of an exceptional book in the field, distinguished teaching and mentoring in the classroom, and even on film. Since 1896 the Association has conferred over a thousand awards. The names, publications, and projects of those who received these awards are a catalogue of the best work produced by the historical profession.

Awards for Publications (Books, Articles, and Other Formats)

The Herbert Baxter Adams Prize for the best book in European history from Ancient times to 1815 (even years), and from 1815 through the 20th century (odd years)

The George Louis Beer Prize for the best book in European international history since 1895

The Jerry Bentley Prize for the most outstanding book on world history

The Albert J. Beveridge Award in American history for a distinguished book on the history of the United States, Latin America, or Canada, from 1492 to the present

The Paul Birdsall Prize for a major book on European military and strategic history since 1870 (biennial; next award year 2016)

The James Henry Breasted Prize for the best book in any field of history prior to CE 1000

The Albert B. Corey Prize for the best book dealing with the history of Canadian-American relations or the history of both countries (biennial; next award year 2016)

The Raymond J. Cunningham Prize for the best article published in a history department journal written by an undergraduate student

The John H. Dunning Prize offered biennially for the most outstanding book in US history (biennial; next award year 2017)

The John K. Fairbank Prize for the best book in East Asian history since 1800

The Morris D. Forkosch Prize for the best book in the field of British, British Imperial, or British Commonwealth history since 1485

The Leo Gershoy Award for the best book in the fields of 17th- and 18th-century western European history

The William and Edwyna Gilbert Award for the best article on teaching history

The Clarence H. Haring Prize for a Latin American who has published the most outstanding book in Latin American history during the preceding five years (quinquennial; next award year 2016)

The J. Franklin Jameson Award for outstanding achievement in the editing of historical primary sources (biennial; next award year 2017)

The Friedrich Katz Prize for the best book in Latin American and Caribbean history

The Joan Kelly Memorial Prize for the most outstanding book in women’s history and/or feminist theory

The Martin A. Klein Prize to recognize the most distinguished work of scholarship on African history published in English

The Waldo G. Leland Prize offered every five years for the most outstanding reference tool in the field of history (quinquennial; next award year 2016)

The Littleton-Griswold Prize for the most distinguished book on US law and society, broadly defined

The J. Russell Major Prize for the best book in English on any aspect of French history

The Helen & Howard R. Marraro Prize for the best book in Italian history

The George L. Mosse Prize for the most distinguished book on the intellectual and cultural history of Europe since 1500

The John E. O’Connor Film Award to recognize outstanding interpretations of history through the medium of film or video

The James A. Rawley Prize for the best book that explores the integration of Atlantic worlds before the 20th century

The Premio Del Rey for a distinguished book in English in the field of early Spanish history (biennial; next award year 2016)

The John F. Richards Prize for the most distinguished book on South Asian history published in English

The James Harvey Robinson Prize for the teaching aid that has made the most outstanding contribution to the teaching and learning of history in any field for public or educational purposes (biennial; next award year 2016)

The Dorothy Rosenberg Prize for the most distinguished work on the history of the Jewish diaspora published in English

The Roy Rosenzweig Prize for innovation in digital history

The Wesley-Logan Prize for the best book on African diaspora history

Awards for Scholarly and Professional Distinction

The Troyer Steele Anderson Prize for contributions to the advancement of the purposes of the Association

The Eugene Asher Award for distinguished postsecondary history teaching

The Beveridge Family Teaching Prize for distinguished K–12 history teaching

Equity Awards for individuals and institutions that have achieved excellence in recruiting and retaining underrepresented racial and ethnic groups into the history profession

The Herbert Feis Award for distinguished contributions to public history

The Honorary Foreign Member for a foreign scholar who is distinguished in his or her field and who has “notably aided the work of American historians”

The Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award for teachers of history who taught, guided, and inspired their students in a way that changed their lives

The Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Award to honor individuals outside the historical profession who have made a significant contribution to the study, teaching, and public understanding of history

The Award for Scholarly Distinction to senior historians for lifetime achievement


For more information, please visit

Contact Information:

Posted: February 16, 2016