2019 Urdang Medal and Kremers Award

Type: Prize

Name: Urdang Medal, Kremers Award

Location: Washington DC, USA

Application Deadline: April 30, 2019

Sponsoring Institution: American Institute of the History of Pharmacy


The American Institute of the History of Pharmacy is now accepting nominations for the Urdang Medal and the Kremers Award, two of the most prestigious awards for scholarly work in the history of pharmacy. The deadline for receipt of nominations is April 30, 2019.

The George Urdang Medal is awarded for an original and scholarly publication, or series of publications, pertaining primarily to historical or historico-social aspects of pharmacy. The Medal may also be awarded for popular works intended to achieve more widespread appreciation for, and better understanding of, pharmacy and its past among members of the pharmaceutical profession, allied professions, or the public.

The Urdang Medal is awarded without restriction as to citizenship of the author or place of publication. Evaluation is based on competence of research and skill of interpretation and presentation. The nominee’s age, total number of publications or previous honors is not given primary consideration.

Nominations are evaluated by a committee consisting of three members of AIHP’s Committee on Awards and three historians of pharmacy from countries other than the United States. If awarded, the 2019 Urdang Medal will be presented at the 44th International Congress for the History of Pharmacy, which will be held in Washington, DC in early September 2019.

The Urdang Medal was established in 1952 in honor of Professor George Urdang, one of AIHP’s founders and a renowned scholar of the history of pharmacy.

Download a Nomination Form (.pdf) for the George Urdang Medal.

The Edward Kremers Award was established in 1961 to honor Edward Kremers, a pioneer of American pharmaceutical education, distinguished American historian of pharmacy, and one of AIHP’s founders.

The Kremers Award is conferred on the same basis as the Urdang Medal, except that the candidates for the Kremers Award must be citizens of the United States.

Download a Nomination Form (.pdf) for the Edward Kremers Award.

The deadline for submitting nominations for either award is April 30, 2019. Complete nominations forms should be emailed to aihp@aihp.org or mailed to the office of the American Institute of the History of Pharmacy at 777 Highland Avenue, Madison, WI 53705.

Contact Email: dennis.birke@aihp.org

Contact Information:
Dennis Birke

Posted: March 05, 2019