2015 Dinge Prize

Type: Prize

Name: The British Society for the History of Science 2015 Dingle Prize.

Location: British Isles

Application Deadline: November 30, 2014

Sponsoring Institution: The British Society for the History of Science


In keeping with the Society’s concern to communicate history of science to broad audiences, the 2015 Dingle Prize will be offered for the best book in the history of science, technology, and medicine, first published in English in 2013 or 2014, which is accessible to a wide audience of non-specialists. The BSHS is delighted that the judging panel will be chaired by Professor Gowan Dawson (University of Leicester). The winning book should present some aspect of the field in an engaging and comprehensible manner and should also show proper regard for historical methods and the results of historical research: for example, it might re-examine a well-known historical incident or achievement, or bring new perspective to previously neglected figures or fields in the past. The value of the Dingle Prize is £300. The winner will also have the opportunity to give a public lecture, organized by the BSHS, on the subject of their book.


More information about the prize, including details of past winners, is available at http://www.bshs.org.uk/prizes/dingle-prize.


Nominations for the Prize are invited from both individuals and publishers and should be made to outreach@bshs.org.uk. Please include full publication details with nominations.


Mailing Address:
Professor Gowan Dawson School of English & Victorian Studies Centre University of Leicester Leicester LE1 7RH U.K.

Contact Information:
Lucy Santos

Posted: October 07, 2014