CFP: North British History of Science Symposium

June 20-21, 2020, Hatfield College, Durham University

The first North British History of Science Symposium will be held June 20­–21 at Durham University’s Hatfield College. The theme of the symposium will be “Sourcing the History of Science.” We invite proposals for short talks that highlight a source or sources and raise questions for discussion about how to interpret them.

Symposium Goals
The symposium aims to create an informal and constructive environment that can provide material benefit to projects in progress. We therefore discourage polished narratives and ask that participants discuss some interpretive issues motivated by sources with which they are currently engaged, and which would benefit from constructive discussion.

Scope and Eligibility
We welcome work from all time periods and regions. The symposium aims to strengthen community among members of institutions in the north of Britain, but we will consider submissions from scholars with any (or no) institution affiliation, at any career stage. Students and early career scholars are especially encouraged to submit.

Submission Process
Submissions should be sent to Joe Martin and should consist of the following information, in the body of the email:
–        Name
–        Email address
–        Affiliation, or how you would like to appear on the programme
–        An abstract of no more than 200 words describing:
o   The source(s) you would like to discuss
o   The project that the source(s) support
o   The interpretive questions you would benefit from discussing

The submission deadline is 31 January 2020. We plan to circulate a draft program by the end of February 2020.

Funds may be available to defray travel and registration costs for early career scholars.

Programme Committee
Sare Aricanli (Durham)
Michael Barany (Edinburgh)
Matthew Eddy (Durham)
Hansun Hsuing (Durham)
Ludmilla Jordanova (Durham)
Joseph D. Martin (Durham)

Advisory Committee
Michael Barany (Edinburgh)
Geoff Belknap (Science and Media Museum)
Isobel Falconer (St Andrews)

Joseph D. Martin (Durham)
Gregory Radick (Leeds)
Amanda Rees (York)
James Sumner (Manchester)

Call for papers

Deadline: February 29, 2020

Posted: January 13, 2020