George Sarton Memorial Lecture in the History and Philosophy of Science

The George Sarton Memorial Lecture in the History and Philosophy of Science, begun in 1960, is given annually at the American Association for the Advancement of Science meeting. The following is a list of the distinguished lecturers, chosen by the Executive Committee.

The George Sarton Memorial Lectures are:

2021 Luis A. Campos (University of New Mexico), “Pandora’s Pandemic”
2020 Alison Wylie (University of British Columbia), “The Indigenous/Science Project: Collaborative Practice as Witnessing”
2019 Karen Rader (Virginia Commonwealth University), “Science for Grown-Ups: Assessing Past & Present Adult Informal Science Education”
2018 Bruce Hunt (University of Texas at Austin), “Imperial Science: Victorian Cable Telegraphy and the Making of ‘Maxwell’s Equations'”
2017 Susan Lindee (University of Pennsylvania), “The Rise of the Genome: Genetics after the Bomb”
2016 David Kaiser (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), “Einstein’s Legacy: Studying Gravity in War and Peace”
2015 Paul Farber (Oregon State University), “Darwinian Evolution and Human Race”
2014 Susan Lederer (University of Wisconsin-Madison), “The Living and the Dead: Biomedical Science, American Society, and the Human Body”
2013 Silvan (Sam) Schweber (Brandeis University), “Hans Bethe and Physics in the 20th Century”
2012 Robert Smith (University of Alberta), “Making Science Big: From Little Science to Megaprojects?”
2011 Lawrence Principe (Johns Hopkins University), “Revealing the Secrets of Alchemy”
2010 Jed Z. Buchwald (CIT), “Knowledge in the Early Modern Era: The Origins of Experimental Error”
2009 Ken Alder (Northwestern University), “A History of the International Scientific Conference”
2008 Janet Browne (Harvard University), “Commemorating Darwin: the History of Scientific Celebrations”
2007 Keith Wailoo (Rutgers University), “Discipline and Disease: The Social Transformation of Cancer in the Age of Biomedicine”
2006 Jamil Ragep (University of Oklahoma), “What can the History of Islamic Science Teach Us About Science?”
2005 Philip Pauly (Rutgers University), “Fighting Invasive Species: lessons from our Nation’s Prior Wars”
2004 Naomi Oreskes (University of California, San Diego), “Consensus in Science: How Do We Know We’re Not Wrong?”
2003 Stephen Pyne (Arizona State University), “Seeking newer worlds: the future of exploration”
2002 Loren Graham (MIT), “Russian Basic Science: Changes since the collapse of the Soviet Union and the impact of international support”
2001 David Hollinger (University of California Berkeley), “Why Are Jews Preeminent in Science and Scholarship? The Veblen Thesis Reconsidered”
2000 Edward Larson (University of Georgia), “75 Years Ago or Forever? The AAAS and the Scopes Trial”
1999 Mary Jo Nye (Oregon State University)
1998 Garland Allen (Washington University in St. Louis), “The Holy Grail and Other Pilgrimages: The Lure of ‘The Gene Fix’ and Lessons from the Eugenics Movement”
1997 Mott Greene (University of Puget Sound), “On What Goes Without Saying (and What Cannot Be Said) in Science”
1996 Jane Maienschein (Arizona State University), “Life on the Cutting Edge: Experimental Biology’s Century of Progress?”
1995 Ronald Numbers (University of Wisconsin-Madison), “Darwinism Comes to America: A Reevaluation of Scientific Responses”
1994 Roy Porter (University College, London)
1993 Gerald Geison (Princeton University)
1992 Spencer Weart (American Institute of Physics)
1991 Kenneth R. Manning (MIT)
1990 Margaret W. Rossiter (Cornell University), “The History of Women in American Science” (cancelled due to illness)
1989 John L. Heilbron (University of California, Berkeley), “The Politics of the Meter Stick”
1988 Stephen Jay Gould (Harvard University), “Boundaries and Categories – A Taxonomist Looks at History”
1987 Frederic L. Holmes (Yale University)
1986 Thomas Parke Hughes (University of Pennsylvania)
1985 Daniel J. Kevles (CIT), “God, man, and genetics: historical reflections”
1984 Arnold Thackray (University of Pennsylvania), “The historian’s calling in the age of science”
1983 Derek de Solla Price (Yale University), “Sealing wax and string: a philosophy of the experimenter’s role in the genesis of high technology”
1982 Henry Guerlac (Cornell University), “Why edit scientific classics?”
1981 Richard S. Westfall (Indiana University), “A scientific life in the 17th century: the career of Issac Newton”
1980 Charles C. Gillispie (Princeton University), “Is the inwardness of science extraneous to its history?”
1979 George White (University of Illinois), “Foundations of American geology”
1978 I. Bernard Cohen (Harvard University), “The concept of revolution in science”
1977 Jane Oppenheimer (Bryn Mawr College), “A biologist looks at history”
1976 Joseph Fruton (Yale University), “The emergence of biochemistry”
1975 No lecture
1974 No lecture
1973 No lecture
1972 Thomas Kuhn (Princeton University), “Mathematical versus experimental traditions in the development of physical science”
1971 Ernst Mayr (Harvard University), “From catastrophism to evolutionism: the history of a conceptual tradition”
1970 Evelyn Hutchinson (Yale University), “Attitudes toward nature in medieval England: the Alphonso and Birds Psalters”
1969 Martin Klein (Yale University), “Boltzmann, Monocycles and Mechanical Explanation”
1968 Oswei Temkin (John Hopkins University), “Historical reflections on the scientist’s virtue”
1967 Cyril Stanley Smith (MIT), “The revival of qualities, corpuscles, and phlogiston in the modern science of materials”
1966 George Wald (Harvard University), “Color vision: model and reality”
1965 Stillman Drake (Municipal Financing Consulting), “The Accademia dei Lincei (1603), the forerunners of modern academies of science”
1964 Lloyd Stevenson (Yale University), “Strangers and kindred: the history of science and the history of medicine”
1963 Gerald Holton (Harvard University), “The three types of scientific hypothesis: toward a program of thematic analysis”
1962 Emilio Segré (University of California, Berkeley), “The influence of the discovery of the neutron on nuclear physics”
1961 Joseph Kaplan (University of California, Los Angeles), “The International Geophysical Year”
1960 René Dubos (Rockefeller University), “The scientist and the public”