The History of Science Society is recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation, incorporated in the District of Columbia.

Governing documents, including all relevant policies, and the most recent form 990 informational return for the organization are made available to the public through the organization’s website. The organization’s annual form 990 informational return is also available (PDF) to the public through donor advocacy websites including The organization’s annual audited financial statements and other financial and governance information are available to donors and stakeholders upon request, as directed by the organization’s website.

The primary governing body is the HSS Council, which consists of 22 individuals: 15 individuals elected from the HSS membership, the 6 members of the Executive Committee, and the immediate Past President of the Society.

The Executive Committee consists of the Society’s President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Executive Director, and Editor.

For more information about the current officers and committee members of the HSS, please visit the  Officers and Committees page.

The day-to-day operations of the History of Science Society are carried out by the Executive Office, currently housed on the campus of the University of Notre Dame. The Executive Office is staffed by two full-time employees, one part-time employee, and small group of student workers.

View the HSS’s Bylaws.

View the HSS’s Articles of Incorporation.

View the HSS’s original Articles of Incorporation.

View Frequently Asked Questions.