Applications open for Osiris editorship (deadline August 1)

The History of Science Society solicits applications and nominations for the editorship of Osiris. Published annually, Osiris compliments its quarterly twin sister Isis and is one of the five publications of the History of Science Society. Each volume of Osiris comprises approximately fifteen essays on a specific theme and is printed on c. 350 pages. (See its website for more information.)

The Editor’s duties include soliciting, reviewing  (with the assistance of the Osiris Editorial Board), and selecting proposals for each volume; working with guest editors to define the scope and content of the volume; overseeing the outside referee process; and working with the University of Chicago Press, a copy editor, proofreader, and graphic designer to coordinate the production of each volume. The total time required may vary, but is expected to be roughly 150-200 hours per year. The appointment is for five years, starting July 1, 2021. 

As a rule, HSS supplies funding for copyediting, proofreading, referees, and an Osiris Board breakfast at the annual meeting. It is hoped that the HSS can help reimburse editor travel to the HSS annual meeting. The Osiris Editor’s home institution is normally expected to provide a dedicated e-mail address and phone, as well as cover (the minimal) costs of secretarial work, postage, and preferably also the costs of hiring a graduate student to take on the role of Managing Editor. Proposals for co-editorships are welcome, but such applications should include a brief outline of the co-Editors’ anticipated workflow.

More detailed information may be obtained from the current Co-Editors of Osiris, Patrick McCray ( and Suman Seth ( Interested individuals should submit three documents: a curriculum vitae, a letter indicating their reasons and qualifications for applying to the position, and a letter of commitment by the supporting institution. This information should be sent to the Co-Editors of the History of Science Society, Alexandra Hui ( and Matthew Lavine ( Alternatively, nominations may also be submitted with the permission of the nominated individuals. The deadline for nominations is August 1, 2020.